RESULTS: Nov. 6, 2018 Election, Warrants and Polls: How the Midcoast voted


The 2018 midterm elections were feisty, but they are over, and here are the collected results for Knox and Waldo counties on local, state and federal elections and referendums.


Question 1: Proposal to establish home care for seniors, disabled

Question 2 on the state ballot: Bond to improve water quality, create wastewater treatment facilities

Question 3 on the state ballot: Bond to improve transportation, waterfront infrastructures

Question 4:  Bond for construction and remodeling of University of Maine System facilities

Question 5: Bond to improve community college infrastructure



Municipal Warrants

Some municipalities have their own articles that voters will consider. They include:

Lincolnville to vote on town charter amendments

Rockland to vote on four marijuana advisory questions

Rockport voters to consider borrowing to build new library, polystyrene container ban

Thomaston to vote on future of Lura Libby building, business block redevelopment, dog ordinance changes, stipends

Vinalhaven voters to consider playground improvement referendum

Cushing voters to consider funding park improvements

School Administrative District 28 Warrant

Camden, Rockport voters consider fate of Mary E. Taylor school building: Save or raze?



Learn more about candidates seeking office in municipalities, Maine House and Senate, District Attorney’s office, the Blaine House, and U.S. Congress and Senate.

Penobscot Bay Pilot has posed questions to candidates running for District Attorney, Maine Senate and Legislature, providing the opportunity for the public to better understand their position on issues important to the state. The candidates have responded with their individual written answers.


Maine House of Representatives

District 91: Friendship, Union (part), Waldoboro, Washington

Jeffrey Evangelos, I-Friendship

Simmons, Abden S, R-Waldoboro

District 92: Criehaven Township, Cushing, Matinicus Island Plantation, Mussel Ridge Township, South Thomaston, St. George, Thomaston

Ann Matlack, D-Spruce Head

Justin Thompson, R-Port Clyde

District 93: Owls Head, Rockland

Pinny Beebe-Center, D-Rockland

Stanley, Maynard L Jr., R-Owls Head

District 94: Camden, Islesboro, Rockport

Vicki Doudera, D-Camden

Owen Casas, I-Rockport

District 95: Appleton, Hope, Warren

Paula Sutton, R-Warren

William Plueker, I-Warren

District 96: Belmont, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill, Palermo and Searsmont

Stanley Paige Zeigler, D-Montville

Robert Currier, R-Belmont

District 97: Belfast, Northport and Waldo

Janice Dodge, D-Belfast

Bevelyn Zakia Beatty, R-Belfast

District 98: Frankfort, Searsport, Swanville and Winterport

Brian Phillip Kresge, R-Winterport

Scott W Cuddy, D-Winterport

District 99: Brooks, Burnham, Freedom, Jackson, Knox, Monroe, Thorndike, Troy and Unity

Maryann Kinney, R-Knox

April Turner, D-Freedom

District 131: Dedham, Orland, Otis, Penobscot, Prospect, Stockton Springs and Verona Island 

Nathalie Arruda, D-Orland

Sherm Hutchins, R-Penobscot

District 134: Cranberry Isles, Deer Isle, Frenchboro, Isle au Haut, North Haven, Southwest Harbor, Stonington, Swan's Island, Tremont and Vinalhaven, plus the unorganized territory of Marshall Island Township

Philip Brady, Jr., R-Little Deer Isle

Genevieve McDonald, D-Stonington

Maine Senate

District 11: Waldo County

Erin Herbig, D-Belfast

Jayne Crosby Giles, R-Belfast


District 12: Appleton, Camden, Criehaven Township, Cushing, Friendship, Hope, Isle au Haut, Matinicus Isle Plantation, Muscle Ridge Islands Township, North Haven, Owls Head, Rockland, Rockport, South Thomaston, St. George, Thomaston, Union, Vinalhaven and Warren.

Dave Miramant, D-Camden

Wendy Pelletier, R-Hope


District 13: Windsor; and in Knox County, the municipality of Washington; and In Lincoln County, the municipalities and unorganized territories of Alna, Boothbay, Boothbay Harbor, Bremen, Bristol, Damariscotta, Edgecomb, Hibberts Gore Township, Jefferson, Louds Island Township, Monhegan Island Plantation, Newcastle, Nobleboro, Somerville, South Bristol, Southport, Waldoboro, Westport Island, Whitefield and Wiscasset.

Laura Fortman, D-Nobleboro: Fortman’s senate campaign focused on economic justice issues

Dana Dow, R-Waldoboro: Sen. Dow promotes solutions over rhetoric in restoring Maine economy


District Attorney

District 6: Knox, Lincoln, Sagadohoc and Waldo counties

Natasha Irving, D-Waldoboro

Jonathan Liberman, R-West Bath


Maine Citizen’s Guide to the Maine Referendum Election

The guide, prepared by the Department of the Secretary of State in collaboration with the Office of the Attorney General, Office of the State Treasurer and Office of Fiscal and Program Review, is an unbiased and non-partisan review of the issues that voters will consider at the polls this November.


Rockland Council CANDIDATES

Harold D. Hayward, Jr.

Benjamin A. Dorr

Brandy Perkins