high school wrestling

Belfast wrestling secures Class B North regional crown

Sun, 02/09/2020 - 9:45am

CARIBOU — The Belfast Area High School wrestling program traveled Saturday, Feb. 8 to participate in the Class B North regional championships in Caribou. 

The trek was fruitful for the Belfast wrestlers as the Lions secured the Class B North regional championship crown with 174.5 points. 

Placing for the Lions were Connor Fournier (third), Gavynn Young (first), Michael Ham (third), Jonah Lovejoy (third), Gabe Kelley (third), Elijah Charbonnier (fourth), Brian White (second), Nathaniel Porter (second), Cam Watts (first) and Ben Watts (third). 

106 pounds: Connor Fournier pinned Logan Blanchette (Mount Desert Island), pinned by Deegan Tidswell (Mattanawcook/Lee Academy), pinned Ashton Hayman (Woodland) and defeated Ethan Milliken (Dexter). 

113 pounds: Gavynn Young won by majority decision against Joseph Keenan (Foxcroft Academy) and won by default against Kaleb Nighingale (Buckspot). 

120 pounds: Haley Wood pinned by Clyde Carr (Mattanawcook/Lee Academy) and pinned by Caleb Schobel (Dexter). 

126 pounds: Timothy Smith won by technical pin against William Fuller (Caribou), pinned by Kaleb Toby (Mattanawcook/Lee Academy), pinned Nate Bock (Piscataquis) and pinned by Rico Ayala (Foxcroft). 

132 pounds: Kaden Bonin pinned by Austin Jackson (Foxcroft), pinned Jazymne Rines (Bucksport), pinned Travis Boumil (Mount Desert Island) and pinned by Travis Mushero (Mattanawcook/Lee Academy). 

138 pounds: Micahel Ham pinned Joey Garcia (Washington Academy), lost by majority decision to Khrystofer Downing (Foxcroft), pinned Hunter Gray (Mount Desert Island) and defeated Angel Ripelle (Caribou). 

145 pounds: Jonah Lovejoy defeated Austin Gill (Foxcroft), pinned by Isaac Hainer (Mattanawcook/Lee Academy), pinned Ituski Langely (Ellsworth) and won by majority decision against Austin Gill (Foxcroft). 

152 pounds: Gabe Kelley defeated Thomas O’Meara (Caribou), lost by majority decision to Nathan Schobel (Dexter), pinned Sean Fitzgerald (Washington Academy) and pinned Thomas O’Meara (Caribou). 

160 pounds: Francesco Martin pinned by Lucas Theriault (Fort Kent), pinned Elizabeth Mushero (Mattanawcook/Lee Academy) and lost to Isaiah Bagley (Piscataquis). 

170 pounds: Elijah Charbonnier pinned by Baylor Landsmen (Mount Desert Island), pinned Jon Howell-Handsom (Dexter) and pinned by Jacob Nadeau (Piscataquis). 

182 pounds: Brian White pinned Keith Gehringer (Calais), pinned Ethan Harkins (Mount Desert Island) and lost to Lucas Ames (Foxcroft). 

195 pounds: Nathaniel Porter pinned Matt Pike (Penobscot Valley), defeated Grayson Fernald (Bucksport) and pinned by Gus Irwin (Dexter). 

220 pounds: Cameron Watts pinned DJ Scheel (Foxcroft), pinned Xander Doty (Old Town) and defeated Eric Bennett (Dexter). 

285 pounds: Ben Watts pinned by Gavin Billings (Bucksport), pinned Levi Strout (Foxcroft), pinned Tanner Rolfe (Washington Academy) and pinned Michael McFarlane (Calais). 

Reach the sports department at: sports@penbaypilot.com