Damariscotta Lions win first Babe Ruth championship since 2004

Sun, 07/11/2021 - 6:45pm

MIDCOAST — The Babe Ruth baseball playoffs concluded Sunday, July 11 with a league championship showdown between third-seeded Damariscotta Lions and fourth-seeded Granite Coast. 

This season, the Midcoast Babe Ruth Baseball League consists of five teams: Waldoboro (representing the RSU 40 area), Rockland Ford (representing the RSU 13 area), Granite Coast (representing a portion of the Five Towns area), P.G. Willey (representing a portion of the Five Towns area) and Damariscotta Lions.

Championship Scoreboard
Game 1: Damariscotta Lions 9, Granite Coast 6
Game 2: Damariscotta Lions 15, Granite Coast 2

Damariscotta Lions won their first league championship since 2004.