Babe Ruth regular season comes to a close, playoffs on deck

Tue, 07/06/2021 - 10:45pm

MIDCOAST — The Babe Ruth baseball regular season concluded Tuesday, July 6 in the Midcoast. 

This season, the Midcoast Babe Ruth Baseball League consists of five teams: Waldoboro (representing the RSU 40 area), Rockland Ford (representing the RSU 13 area), Granite Coast (representing a portion of the Five Towns area), P.G. Willey (representing a portion of the Five Towns area) and Damariscotta Lions.

July 6 Results
Rockland Ford 8, Damariscotta Lions 5
Waldoboro 12, P.G. Willey 1

Final Standings
1. Waldoboro 9-1
2. Rockland Ford 8-2
3. Damariscotta Lions 5-5
4. Granite Coast 2-8
5. P.G. Willey 1-9

Recap: Rockland Ford 8, Damariscotta Lions 5 

Rockland Ford posted two runs in the fourth inning, four in the fifth and two in the sixth while collecting eight hits, committing five errors and abandoning six runners on base. 

Damariscotta Lions tallied two runs in the sixth and three in the seventh in a rally attempt. The visitors earned four hits, recorded three errors and stranded six on base. 

At the plate for Rockland Ford were Taygan McAllister (single, triple, two runs, RBI), Blade Brann (double, run, two RBI), Gilbert Stewart (single, run, RBI), Dominic Frisone (single, RBI), Dylan Winslow (run), Parker Darge (run), Brady Proctor (single, RBI), Joey Brown (single, run) and Levi Philbrook (single, run). 

At the plate for Damariscotta Lions were Kaden Bartrug (single, run, RBI), AJ Giberson (single, two runs), Micah Tomasello (single, run, RBI), Blake Grady (single, RBI) and Spencer McDaniel (run). 

Pitching for Rockland Ford were Gavin Ripley, Stewart, Bryson Mattox and Jacob Watkinson. 

Pitching for Damariscotta Lions were Tomasello, Giberson and Roan Donaghy. 

Playoffs Day 1: July 10 at Morrill Field in Rockland
#5 P.G. Willey at #4 Granite Coast, 9 a.m.
9 a.m. winner at #1 Waldoboro, noon
#3 Damariscotta Lions at #2 Rockland Ford, 3 p.m.

Playoffs Day 2: July 11 at Morrill Field in Rockland
Championship games at 11 a.m. and 30 minutes after the conclusion of the 11 a.m. contest

Playoffs Day 3 (if needed): July 12 at Morrill Field in Rockland
A winner-take-all championship game will be played, if needed, at 5 p.m.