New England governors suspend interstate youth ice hockey competition

Thu, 11/12/2020 - 11:15am

    AUGUSTA — In response to recent coronavirus outbreaks associated with the conduct of interstate youth hockey activities, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy, Maine Governor Janet Mills, Rhode Island Governor Gina Raimondo, New Hampshire Governor Chris Sununu, Vermont Governor Phil Scott, Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont, and Massachusetts Governor Charlie Baker will support a regional approach to interstate competitions.

    As case numbers increase in many states across the country, it is critical that neighboring states coordinate a regional approach to limit further community spread of the virus, a press release noted. 

    The seven states will suspend interstate competitions for public and private schools and youth hockey effective Saturday, November 14 through at minimum December 31.

    The prohibition will not impact interstate collegiate, professional, or U.S. national team hockey activities, which will remain subject to existing health and safety protocols and/or restrictions. 

    As public health data continues to evolve, the states will reassess the need for continued restrictions on interstate sports activities. 

    The release noted Maine’s COVID-19 Prevention Checklist for Community Sports already prohibits competition between hockey teams from different geographic areas until January 11.