Midcoast Athletics

New England Cross Country Championships coming to Belfast

Posted:  Wednesday, November 8, 2017 - 3:30pm

BELFAST — The New England Cross Country Championships are coming to Belfast’s Troy Howard Middle School Saturday, Nov. 11. 

The event will see participants from Maine, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Vermont and New Hampshire race to see who is the fastest in the region. Massachusetts does not participate in the New England regional championship tournament. 

The race around the 3.1 mile course will begin at 11:30 a.m. for the female division and at 12:30 p.m. for the male division. 

Following the meet, medals and trophies will be awarded in the school’s gymnasium. Medals for the first 25 runners and team champion, runner-up and third places trophies and team medals will be awarded. 

Each state was able to enter six full cross country teams comprised of seven runners and any other individual placing in the top 25 positions in its state meet. 

Runners from Camden Hills will include senior Alli Wells, junior Augusta Stockman, sophomores Miranda Dunton and Grace Iltis, and freshmen Rose O’Brien, Phoebe Root and Claire Wyman. 

Schools that will be represented in the girls division include Aerospace (CT), Barrington (RI), Beford (NH), Berlin (CT), Bishop Guertin (NH), Bonny Eagle, Brattleboro (VT), Burlington (VT), Camden Hills, Cape Elizabeth, Champlain Valley (VT), Chariho (RI), Coe-Brown (NH), Colchester (VT), Concord (NH), ConVal (NH), Coventry (RI), Cumberland (RI), Danbury (CT), Deering, E.O. Smith (CT), East Greenwich (RI), Edward Little, Essex (VT), Exeter (NH), West Greenwich (RI), Falmouth, Freeport, George Stevens, Glastonbury (CT), Gorham, Greely, Greenwich (CT), Guilford (CT), Haddam-Killingworth (CT), Hanover (NH), Harwood (VT), Immaculate (CT), Kearsarge (NH), La Salle Academy (RI), Lamoille (VT), Lyndon Institute (VT), Maine Coast Waldorf, Manchester Central (NH), Manchester West (NH), Manchester (CT), Marshwood, Massabesic, Merrimack (NH), Middletown (CT), Milford (NH), Montville (CT), Mount Anthony (VT), Mount Ararat, Mount Mansfield (VT), Nashua North (NH), Nashua South (NH), New Fairfield (CT), North Kingstown (RI), Orono, Oxbow (VT), Oyster River (NH), Pinkerton (NH), Pomperaug (CT), Portsmouth (RI), Portsmouth (NH), Putney (VT), Rice Memorial (VT), Rocky Hill (CT), Scarborough, Smithfield (RI), Somers (CT), Souhegan (NH), South Burlington (VT), South Kingstown (RI), Saint Johnsbury (VT), Stratton Mountain (VT), Trumbull (CT), Watertown (CT), Westerly (RI), Wilton (CT) and Yarmouth. 

Schools that will be represented in the boys division will include Bangor, Barrington (RI), Bishop Hendricken (RI), Bonny Eagle, Brattleboro (VT), Burlington (VT), Burrillville (RI), Campbell (NH), Canton (CT), Cape Elizabeth, Champlain Valley (VT), Chariho (RI), Chesire (CT), Classical (RI), Coe-Brown (NH), Concord (NH), Danbury (CT), DAnville (VT), Deer Isle-Stonington, Deering, Derby (CT), East Catholic (CT), East Greenwich (RI), Essex (VT), Exeter (NH), Fairfield Prep (CT), Fairfield Warde (CT), Falmouth, Greely, Haddam-Killingworth (CT), Hall (CT), Hampden Academy, Keene (NH), Kennedy (CT), Kingswood (NH), La Salle Academy (RI), Ledyard (CT), Lincoln Academy, Londonderry (NH), Manchester (CT), Merrimack Valley (NH), Middlebury (VT), Milton (VT), Moultonborough (NH), Mount Anthony (VT), Mount Ararat, Mount Hope-Bristol (RI), Nashua North (NH), New Milford (CT), North Country (VT), North Kingstown (RI), Orono, Oxford Hills, Oyster River (NH), Pinkerton (NH), Ponaganset (RI), Sacopee Valley, Scarborough, Shelton (CT), South Burlington (VT), Saint Johnsbury (VT), Staples (CT), Thetford Academy (VT), Timberlane (NH), Toll Gate (RI), Tolland (CT), U-32 (VT), Waterville, Waynflete, Wells, Westerly (RI), Windham (NH), Winnacunnet (NH), Xavier (CT) and Yarmouth. 

Concessions will be available at the school and no pets are allowed on school grounds.

The 3.1 mile course is considered to be extremely spectator friendly. 

Reach George Harvey and the sports department at: sports@penbaypilot.com