Maine recognizes its 2018 teachers of year in all counties

Mon, 05/14/2018 - 8:15pm

    Anthony Lufkin, at teacher at Friendship Village School, Dan Hupp a teacher at the Great Salt Bay Community School, and David Coffey, a teacher at the Belfast Area High School and Troy Howard Middle School, are among educators being recognized by the state.

    Teachers from each of Maine’s 16 counties were honored in Augusta’s State Capitol at an annual event in the Hall of Flags announcing the 2018 Maine County Teachers of the Year. The group is the county finalists for Maine Teacher of the Year, an honor awarded each year to one teacher in Maine.

    The educators were each nominated by a member of their community for their exemplary service in education, and dedication to their students. They were selected by a distinguished panel of teachers, principals and business community members from a pool of hundreds of other nominated teachers in their communities.. The Dept. of Education received hundreds of nominations for outstanding teachers across our state.

    The County Teacher of the Year program recognizes and honors the contributions of Maine's public classroom teachers, creates a greater public awareness of the teaching profession, inspires and motivates future and current teachers and promotes teacher leadership.

    Each year, 16 County Teachers of the Year are selected to represent outstanding educators who are committed to the quality education of Maine students. During their year of service, the cohort engages in ongoing professional development and many local and statewide activities. One of the County Teachers of the Year is selected as the State Teacher of the Year.

    Katie Toothaker
    Minot Consolidated School

    Bill Guerrette
    Presque Isle Middle School

    Connie Russell
    Mabel Wilson School

    Jessica Ellingwood
    Spruce Mountain High School

    Jennifer Farnham
    Hancock Grammar School

    Katy Jones
    Winslow Junior High School

    Anthony Lufkin
    Friendship Village School

    Dan Hupp
    Great Salt Bay Community School
    Jessica McGreevy
    Oxford Hills Middle School

    Shana Goodall
    Orono High School

    Joseph Hennessey
    Piscataquis Community HS

    Christine Del Rossi
    Mt. Ararat High School

    Patti Champagne
    Bloomfield Elementary School

    David Coffey
    Belfast Area High School

    Kailee Colbath
    Washington Academy

    Kristin Klin
    Bonny Eagle Middle School