Berger, Munro, Ray among cohort of County Teachers of the Year

Thu, 05/11/2023 - 10:30pm

AUGUSTA — Sixteen Maine teachers were announced as 2023 County Teachers of the Year at a ceremony Thursday in the Hall of Flags at the Maine State Capitol during Teacher Appreciation Week.

More than 500 teachers across Maine were nominated by a member of their school community and these 16 outstanding educators were selected as County Teachers of the Year by a panel of teachers, principals, and business community members within their county.

Representing the Midcoast:

Knox County: Donna Munro, 4th Grade Teacher, Union Elementary School

Lincoln County: Edith Berger, 6th Grade Writing and Social Studies Teacher, Miller School

Waldo County: Catie Ray, Kindergarten Teacher, Gladys Weymouth Elementary School


The cohort of 16 range from having taught six years to 30, include elementary, middle, high school, and adult education teachers, and teach subjects ranging from science, reading, and social studies to graphic communications, health, and physical education.

Maine County Teachers of the Year serve as ambassadors for teachers, students, and schools throughout their year of service. Throughout the summer, they will continue to participate in an intensive Maine State Teacher of the Year selection process and Maine’s Teacher of the Year will be announced in the fall.

“As the daughter of a longtime public school teacher, I have the deepest respect and admiration for the Maine educators who work tirelessly to equip our students with the knowledge and skills they need to have bright futures,” said Governor Janet Mills during the ceremony. “I congratulate this year’s County Teacher of the Year honorees for their commitment to excellence in education, and most importantly, for their outstanding work in teaching our children.”