Knox County administration recognizes local, state agencies during National Police Week and National Peace Officers Memorial Day

Sun, 05/12/2024 - 5:00pm

    While most municipalities in Knox County are served exclusively by the Sheriff’s Office, the City of Rockland and the towns of Camden, Rockport and Thomaston have their own police departments. Together, the five agencies protect and serve the mainland and islands of Knox County. And up until just a few years ago, the Maine State Police also maintained a somewhat overlapping presence in certain rural areas.

    Other agencies that perform law enforcement duties in Knox County are the Maine Fire Marshal’s Office, the Maine Marine Patrol, the Maine Forestry Service, the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Warden Service, the Maine State Prison, the Bolduc Correctional Facility, the Knox County Jail, and the Maine Judicial Marshal Service, which provides for the safety and security of court staff and visitors at the Knox County Courthouse.

    In 1962, President John F. Kennedy proclaimed May 15 as National Peace Officers Memorial Day, and the calendar week in which May 15 falls, as National Police Week. Established by a joint resolution of Congress in 1962, National Peace Officers Memorial Day highlights special recognition to those law enforcement officers who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

    “It is important that we take time to acknowledge all members of the law enforcement community; locally, regionally and statewide, and especially to remember those who have made the ultimate sacrifice”, said Interim County Administrator, Gordon Page.

    According to the Officer Down Memorial Page, [ODMP.ORG], there have been 98 law enforcement service-related deaths in Maine, several of which were law enforcement officers or corrections officials working in Knox County.

    Brief details leading to End Of Watch for the following can be found at: