Belfast, St. George, South Bristol, Boothbay Harbor

DaPonte String Quartet return to roots with Midsummer Masters tour

Mon, 07/01/2019 - 8:45am

MIDCOAST — DaPonte String Quartet has decided to revisit its roots this summer and go back to its rural beginnings.

In 1995, when the DaPonte String Quartet came to Maine on a joint grant from the National Endowment for the Arts and Chamber Music America, there was not a great deal of classical music in the smaller towns and villages of the state, according to the Quartet, in a news release. 

“The financial support was intended to bring chamber music, specifically String Quartet music, to Maine’s rural communities, which it did,” said the Quartet.

Shortly after the DSQ began playing regularly in Maine, the Friends of the DaPonte String Quartet was formed to ensure that the group was able to stay in Maine. In the years since, the DaPonte String Quartet has become a lasting and integral part of the community, enriching the musical and educational lives of thousands in Maine.

“The Quartet is looking forward to this ongoing concert series in the churches and historic landmarks of small towns and villages, giving residents intimate experiences of world-class music in their own communities,” said the Quartet.

In the recent past, the DSQ has played summer concerts in Brunswick, Portland, Rockport, and other cities. 

“Although Rockport may not be considered a major metroplex, we did decide to take the DSQ summer 2019 tour to smaller towns and little cities off our beaten path, maybe to return to places where we have not played in years,” they said.

The DaPonte String Quartet begins the summer 2019 tour in Belfast on July 7. They will also play in Tenants Harbor, Phippsburg, Boothbay Harbor, Scarborough, South Bristol, Wells, Surry, and Georgetown.

The DSQ will be playing Haydn’s String Quartet in G Major, Ravel’s String Quartet in F Major, and music from Beethoven’s String compositions. Which Beethoven compositions, you may ask?  Four of the Midsummer Master concerts will include Beethoven’s String Quartet in F minor (“Serioso”).  

However, on four occasions this summer, they will be joined by guest artist Marcus Thompson (viola). Marcus Thompson has performed in chamber music series and recitals throughout the world. 

Thompson holds a doctorate in viola performance from The Juilliard School. He has been a member of the viola faculty at New England Conservatory for more than three decades, and professor of music at MIT for more than four decades.

In June 2015 he was appointed to MIT’s highest faculty honor, becoming one of its thirteen Institute Professors.  For these four guest artist concerts the program will include Beethoven’s Viola Quintet in C Major but not the “Serioso”.

Thompson will be with the Quartet on July 13, August 2, August 4, and August 15.  The “Serioso” program can be heard on July 7, July 20, July 27, and August 11.

July 7 at 2pm (Sun.) Belfast Free Library, 106 High Street, Belfast, 04915

*July 13 at 7:30pm (Sat.)*  Ocean View Grange 435 Port Clyde Rd. (Rt. 131), 04860

July 20 at 7:30pm (Sat.)  Phippsburg Congregational Church, 10 Church Lane, Phippsburg, 04562

July 27 at 4pm (Sat.)   St. Columba’s Church, Boothbay Harbor, 04538

*Aug. 2 at 7:30pm (Fri.)*  South Bristol Union Church, Route 129 and Middle Road, 04568

*Aug. 4 at 3pm (Sun.)*  Wells Reserve at Laudholm, 342 Laudholm Farm Rd, Wells, 04090 

Aug. 11 at 4pm (Sun.) Surry Arts at the Barn, 8 Cross Rd, Surry, 04684

*Aug. 15 at 7:30pm (Thur.)* Robinhood Free Meetinghouse, 210 Robinhood Rd, Georgetown, 04548

* Guest artist Marcus Thompson

For tickets and more info, visit


SUMMER 2019 Program


String Quartet in G Major, Op. 77 No. 1

Franz Josef Haydn (1732-1809)


Allegro moderato


Menuetto. Presto

Finale. Presto


Lydia Forbes & Ferdinand Liva, violin

Kirsten Monke, viola

Myles Jordan, cello




String Quartet in F Minor, Op. 95 "Serioso"

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)


Allegro con brio

Allegretto ma non troppo

Allegro Assai vivace ma serioso

Larghetto espressivo; Allegretto agitato; Allegro


Ferdinand Liva & Lydia Forbes, violin

Kirsten Monke, viola

Myles Jordan, cello



Viola Quintet in C Major, Opus 29 

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)


Allegro moderato

Adagio molto espressivo

Scherzo. Allegro



Lydia Forbes & Ferdinand Liva, violin

Kirsten Monke & guest Marcus Thompson, viola

Myles Jordan, cello





String Quartet in F Major 

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)


Allegro moderato--très doux

Assez vif--très rythmé

Très lent

Vif et agité


Ferdinand Liva & Lydia Forbes, violin

Kirsten Monke, viola

Myles Jordan, cello