Nearly all Belfast municipal races uncontested

Tue, 11/02/2021 - 11:45pm

    BELFAST — Voting for the municipal candidates in Belfast was relatively easy for voters participating in the Nov. 2 elections. 

    All but one of the nine municipal candidate races featured one candidate in the running. One race had no declared candidates. 

    Eric Sanders was elected mayor with 1,726 votes. 

    Brenda Bonneville was elected Ward 3 Councilor with 1,672 votes. 

    Michael Hurley was elected Ward 4 Councilor with 1,564 votes. 

    Larry Theye was elected Warden for Wards 1 and 2 with 1,644 votes. 

    No candidates declared for the Warden of Ward 5 position. There were 93 write-in ballots, however. No further information on the write-in candidates was available. 

    Catherine Holand was elected the Ward Clerk for Ward 5 with 1,580 votes. 

    Ryan Otis (1,326 vote) and Ryan Harnden (1,209 votes) were elected to a seat on the RSU 71 school board for three-year terms. 

    Elizabeth Burnett was elected to the RSU 71 school board for a one-year term with 1,314 votes.