Zeigler measure to increase number of Lincolnville Sewer District trustees signed into law

Mon, 06/21/2021 - 7:30pm

    AUGUSTA — A bill from Representative Stanley Paige Zeigler, D-Montville, to increase the membership of the Lincolnville Sewer District Board of Trustees from three members to five was signed into law by Governor Mills.

    LD 1625 came at the request of the chair of the Board of Trustees, Paul Lippman, who shared with Zeigler the difficulty in finding trustees, the amount of work the board handles and why two additional members would be beneficial for all.

    “I am grateful for the support this bill has received,” said Zeigler. “Regardless of political party, the entire Legislature and Gov. Mills saw the importance of this bill for the Lincolnville Sewer District.”

    The bill stipulates that the additional two members would be alternates, and they would only be able to vote if there is not already a quorum. The bill was amended at the work session to add clarifying language that two members are required for a quorum.

    The bill will go into effect 90 days after the Legislature adjourns.

    Zeigler is serving his third term in the Maine House and represents the communities of Belmont, Liberty, Lincolnville, Montville, Morrill, Palermo and Searsmont. He serves on the Environment and Natural Resources Committee and the Energy, Utilities and Technology Committee.