adults also competed this year

Cub Scout Pack 200’s Pinewood Derby announces winners

Sun, 03/24/2024 - 5:00pm

Cub Scout Pack 200 held its Pinewood Derby on March 09, 2024, “a much anticipated part of the Scouting year,” said Jamie Winslow.

The Pinewood Derby tradition, dates back to 1953 thanks to the creative mind of Donald Murphy and continues to inspire young minds and bring families together.

“With 19 eager participants our derby day was nothing short of spectacular,” said Winslow. “From sleek designs to roaring cheers, every race echoed Murphy's vision: ‘I wanted to devise a wholesome constructive activity that would foster a closer father-son relationship and promote craftsmanship and good sportsmanship through competition.’ Our heartfelt congratulations go out to our incredible winners of the Cub Scout Pinewood Derby!” 

 Finlay Woodbury - 1st Place, Fastest AOL Scout
 Derek Nash - 2nd Place, Fastest Bear Scout
 Jonathan Burwen-Taylor - 3rd Place, Fastest Lion Scout
 Soren Fokine - Fastest Wolf Scout
 Conner Moore - Fastest Webelos Scout

The Best in Show Winner was Leif Fokine. Leif has earned the opportunity to compete in the District Best in Show competition, “a testament to his exceptional craftsmanship and creativity,” said Winslow. 

The District race will take place on Saturday, April 6, in Vassalboro.

Adult competitors raced in their inaugural year of the Cub Scout Pinewood Derby.

“Following the same rules as our young scouts, these adults showed incredible creativity and skill,” said Winslow.

Congratulations to:

1st. John Wood 
2nd Doug Woodbury 
3rd Joseph Moore 
4th Matt Tepelmann 
5th Dan Fokine 
6th Joe Mathiau

“Their enthusiasm and sportsmanship added a whole new level of excitement to our event,” said Winslow.