2021 Maine Photography Show opens April 10

Award-winning photos to be announced April 3 or 4
Tue, 03/30/2021 - 8:30am

Story Location:
1 Townsend Avenue
Boothbay Harbor  Maine  04538
United States

The 16th annual Maine Photography Show (MPS) opens April 10 at Boothbay Region Art Foundation (BRAF) and will continue through May 7, subject to COVID-19 restrictions.

Juror Bruce Brown selected 110 images from the 600-plus submitted for consideration in the four categories: B&W, Color, Student and this year’s special category, Community Celebrations. A Portland native and resident, Brown has curated over 150 Maine photography exhibitions from 1988 to 2006 as curator of the Center for Maine Contemporary Art (CMCA, now in Rockland), from 2013 to 2018; co-founder of the PhoPA Gallery (Photography and Paper) in Portland, in conjunction with The Maine Media Workshops + College in Rockport, and currently at Cove Street Arts since June 2019.  His Maine photography has been featured at Fryeburg Academy Art Museum, Portland Museum of Art, Bangor Art Museum, Colby College Museum of Art and CMCA in Rockland.

The photographers he selected within the Boothbay Register/Wiscasset Newspaper and Pen Bay Pilot readership are: Appleton: Lisa Mossel Vietze, Boothbay: Eva McDermott, Boothbay Harbor: Lois Glaser, Kurt Hasselman and Karen Higgins; Bristol: Nancy Heyer, Camden: Kit Remsen Aroneau, Cushing: Richard Reynolds, Damariscotta: Michael Giglia,  East Boothbay: David Howarth and Scott Lucas; Edgecomb: Robert Crink, Hope: Karen Olson, Lincolnville: Jon Tobiasz, Newcastle: Jeremy Smit, Owl’s Head: Emma Philbrook, Rockland: Roberta Baumann, Nicholas Labreck and Jeanette Phillips; Rockport: Amy Wappler, Harold McWilliams, Judith O’Dell, Kevin O’Malley and Reena Walkling; Searsport: Bern Altman, Swanville: Betsy Headley, Trevett: Anne Copeland, West Boothbay Harbor: Emily Whiting, and Wiscasset: Stan Haney.

For the complete list of photographers in the show, and of all who entered the competition, visit the MPS website listed below.

MPS Chairman Bruce Burnham and members of the show committee were at BRAF hanging the show Friday, March 25. Awards would be announced April 3 or 4 on the MPS website, he said. “I think it’s a very diversified show, selection of human interest to fabulous landscapes. Overall, it’s going to be a great show,” Burnham said.

The photograph gracing the cover of this year’s exhibition catalog is the MPS Committee’s Choice Award winner, “Two Willets At Sunset,” taken by Dave Kirkwood. Those MPS committee members are Burnham, David Hodson, Ella Hodson, LeeAnn LeFleur, Norbert Leser, George Paton and Linwood Riggs. Among the prizes awarded is $500 for Best In Show.  Prizes are also awarded for First, Second, and Third placing photographs. Each of the four categories have one to three Honorable Mentions.

First National Wealth Management is lead sponsor for this year’s show. Show Award Sponsors are Bath Savings, the Capital Area, First Light, and Portland camera clubs; and Boothbay Boat Sales.

All photos in the show are for sale! BRAF is in Boothbay Harbor at 1 Townsend Ave. To see the entire show now, and for more information, visit https://mainephotoshow.org