Pratt, Simmons win Waldoboro selectman seats; residents approve housing over park at A.D. Gray property

Tue, 06/08/2021 - 11:30pm

    WALDOBORO — Voters in the Town of Waldoboro voted on a series of municipal positions, budget items and municipal business Tuesday, June 8. 

    William Pratt and Abden Simmons won the two open select board seats, commanding 520 and 511 votes, respectively. Seth Hall tallied 260, Kevin Court tallied 147 and Russell Brazier tallied 80. 

    On the school board front, Sandra O’Farrell (408 votes) and Jeanette Wheeler (393 votes) earned spots on the board for the upcoming school year. Karen Wellman tallied 375 votes. 

    Gordon Webster recorded 642 votes as the lone declared candidate for the utility district board of trustees, while Kevin Barbour secured 12 write-in votes. 

    There were no declared candidates for the three budget committee seats. Ben Vail earned 31 votes and Susan Jackson earned 30. Other write-in candidates tied for an equal amount of votes. 

    Of note from the articles, Article 45 to approve the creation of up to 36 units of affordable senior housing at the former A.D. Gray School property passed 534-310. 

    Article 46, proposing the creation of a park at the former A.D. Gray School was rejected by voters 497-344. 

    All other articles passed, as did the school budget. Precise numbers for those items were not available at publishing time.