Appleton voters elect two new Select Board members, signal dissatisfaction with school budget

Tue, 06/08/2021 - 11:15pm

    APPLETON – Scott Esancy and Marci Moody Blakely secured seats on the Appleton Select Board following a three-way competition.

    The elections were held June 8 at annual town meeting, which again took place at the polls, only, during a pandemic. Approximately 282 voters cast ballots behind the curtain this spring.

    Esancy received 185 votes; Blakely, 176; and John Fenner, 100.

    Elizabeth Grierson and Stephen Wadsworth were elected to the Appleton Village School Board, for the two open seats.

    The Appleton Village School budget barely passed, however, with 145 voting in favor and 133 opposed.

    The Five Town CSD budget drew 144 in favor and 107 opposed.

    The remaining town meeting warrant, with multiple articles, passed with varying wider margins.