

44 Canal Center Plaza, Suite 200 | Alexandria, VA 22314, USA | 703.836.6767 or 1.800.THEIACP | www.theIACP.org

2/15/2022

## Dear Sheriff Carroll,

I want to personally congratulate you and the dedicated members of the Knox County Sheriff's Office on your achievement in completing the One Mind Campaign Pledge. By training and certifying 100% of your agency's deputies in Mental Health First Aid or other equivalent mental health awareness course and at least 20% of your sworn staff in CIT or equivalent crisis response training, you demonstrate your agency's commitment to the safety and well-being of all the members of your community. Your willingness to build community partnerships and implement promising practices to enhance police interactions with persons affected by mental illness speaks to your innovative leadership.

As law enforcement leaders, we know that successful interactions between police officers and persons affected by mental illness improves public trust, ensures officer safety, and saves lives.

The significance of your efforts cannot be overstated, congratulations!

I urge you to continue to train and certify your deputies in mental health first aid training and crisis intervention team training and to continue strengthening your agency's relationship with mental health services organizations in your community. I hope you will join me in continuing to promote the One Mind Campaign with other departments. Thank you for your dedication to public safety and to enhancing police response to persons affected by mental illness.

Sincerely,

Chief Dwight E. Henninger

**IACP President** 

President

Chief Dwight E. Henninger Vail, CO, Police Departmen

Immediate Past President Chief Cynthia E. Renaud (Ret.) Santa Monica, CA, Police Department

First Vice President Chief John Letteney Thomasville, GA, Police Department

Second Vice President Chief Wade Carpenter Park City, UT, Police Department Third Vice President
Chief Ken A. Walker
West University Place,
Police Department

**Fourth Vice President**Director David B. Rausch *Tennessee Bureau of Investigation* 

Fifth Vice President
Doug Shoemaker
Grand Junction, CO, Police Departme

Vice President At-Large Chief Sean Duggan Chandler, AZ, Police Department Vice President At-Large Chief Kristen Ziman (Ret.) Aurora, IL. Police Departmen

International Vice President Emmanuel Roux Head of the International Division of the French Judicial Police

Vice President-Treasurer Chief Ronald A. Sellon Mansfield, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Division of State and Provincial Police Colonel Matthew Langer Minnesota State Patrol General Chair, Division of State Associations of Chiefs of Police Chief James G. Hicks Natick, MA, Police Department

General Chair, Midsize Agencies Division Chief Edward Walsh Taunton, MA, Police Department

Parliamentarian
Chief Robert Champagne (Ret.)
Peabody, MA, Police Department

Executive Director / Chief Executive Officer Vincent Talucci, CAE Alexandria, VA

Deputy Executive Director /
Chief Operating Officer
Terrence M. Cunningham
Alexandria VA