

Maine Legislature 2 STATE HOUSE STATION AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333-0002

January 18, 2021

Commissioner Michael Sauschuck Department of Public Safety 45 Commerce Drive, Suite 1 104 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333

Dear Commissioner Sauschuck,

As elected representatives, we are extremely concerned about recent posts and comments made by Maine Bureau of Capitol Police Chief Russell Gauvin on social media. Chief Gauvin expressed support for conspiracy theories that led to the violent insurrection against the government at the U.S. Capitol on January 6, 2021 and the death of two police officers. His words portray an inability to neutrally provide for the safety of every member of the Legislature.

At this historic juncture in which there are viable, coordinated threats against lawmakers, we find Chief Gauvin's comments reprehensible, and his apology utterly insufficient. We believe Police Chief Gauvin should be immediately placed on administrative leave while a full and transparent investigation takes place, and next steps are determined.

Those who commit to public service are held to a higher standard for public comments. The words of Police Chief Gauvin made in recent months and reported over several years have diminished our trust in his ability to serve in his current role. Many of us may never feel safe at the Maine State House facility again so long as Chief Gauvin is in charge of security or a member of the Capitol Police.

We believe in justice and the right to due process. Thank you for doing your due diligence during these perilous times.

Signed,

Rep. Kyle Bailey, Gorham

Speaker Ryan Fecteau, Biddeford House Majority Leader Michelle Dunphy, Old Town House Assistant Majority Leader Rachel Talbot Ross, Portland Senate President Troy Jackson, Aroostook Senate Majority Leader Nate Libby, Androscoggin Senate Assistant Majority Leader Eloise Vitelli, Sagadahoc Rep. Poppy Arford, Brunswick Sen. Donna Bailey, York Sen. Joseph M. Baldacci, Penobscot Sen. Cathy Breen, Cumberland Rep. Arthur Bell, Yarmouth Rep. Seth Berry, Bowdoinham Rep. Michael Brennan, Portland Sen. Stacy Brenner, Cumberland Rep. Heidi Brooks, Lewiston Rep. Mark Bryant, Windham Rep. Barbara Cardone, Bangor Sen. Anne Carney, Cumberland Sen. Ben Chipman, Cumberland Sen. Ned Claxton, Androscoggin Rep. Kristen Cloutier, Lewiston Rep. Benjamin T. Collings, Portland Rep. Lynn Copeland, Saco Rep. Lydia Crafts, Newcastle Rep. Margaret Craven, Lewiston Rep. Ed Crocket, Portland Rep. Scott Cuddy, Winterport Sen. Chip Curry, Waldo Sen. Mattie Daughtry, Cumberland Rep. Jan Dodge, Belfast Rep. Donna Doore, Augusta Rep. Vicki Doudera, Camden Rep. Jeffrey Evangelos, Friendship

Rep. Richard A. Evans, Dover-Foxcroft Rep. Valli Geiger, Rockland Rep. Traci Gere, Kennebunkport Rep. Lori K. Gramlich, Old Orchard Beach Rep. Nicole Grohoski, Ellsworth Rep. Thom Harnett, Gardiner Rep. Allison Hepler, Woolwich Rep. Patricia Hymanson, York Rep. Grayson Lookner, Portland Rep. Kristi Mathieson, Kittery Rep. Ann Matlack, St. George Rep. Gina Melaragno, Auburn Rep. Michele Meyer, Eliot Rep. Jay McCreight, Harpswell Rep. Genevieve McDonald, Stonington Rep. Rebecca Millett, Cape Elizabeth Rep. Victoria Morales, South Portland Rep. Laurie Osher, Orono Rep. Sarah Pebworth, Blue Hill Rep. Joe Perry, Bangor Rep. Teresa S. Pierce, Falmouth Rep. Lois Galgay Reckitt, South Portland Rep. Morgan Rielly, Westbrook Rep. Tiffany Roberts, South Berwick Rep. Melanie Sachs, Freeport Rep. Suzanne Salisbury, Westbrook Sen. Heather Sanborn, Cumberland Rep. Erin Sheehan, Biddeford Rep. Mike Sylvester, Portland Rep. Denise Tepler, Topsham Rep. Maureen Terry, Gorham Rep. Charlotte Warren, Hallowell Rep. Sophia B. Warren, Scarborough Rep. Lynne Williams, Bar Harbor Rep. Barb Wood, Portland Rep. Sam Zager, Portland

CC: Gov. Janet Mills (% Chief of Staff Jeremy Kennedy); Speaker Ryan Fecteau, Chief of Staff Megan Rochelo; House Majority Leader Michelle Dunphy, House Assistant Majority Leader Rachel Talbot Ross, Chief of Staff Katie Walsh; Senate President Troy Jackson, Chief of Staff BJ McCollister; Senate Majority Leader Nate Libby, Senate Assistant Majority Leader Eloise Vitelli, Chief of Staff Isabel Mullin