Congratulated by Senate President

Winterport teacher Kathryn Foran named Waldo County Teacher of the Year

Fri, 05/08/2015 - 3:00pm

    AUGUSTA – Kathryn “Kate” Foran has been named Waldo County Teacher of the Year. She is one of 16 teachers from each of Maine’s counties who will compete to be the 2016 Maine Teacher of the Year. Foran is a fourth grade teacher at the Leroy H. Smith School in Winterport which Senate President Michael Thibodeau attended as a child. Foran visited the State Capitol this week along with other county Teachers of the Year.

    Teacher of the Year candidates are nominated by students, co-workers, and other community members. According to the Department of Education, the nominees should bring to the classroom exemplary skills that are recognized by students, colleagues, parents, and all other members of your school’s community. 

    The 2016 Maine Teacher of the Year will be selected from the 16 winners and named at a surprise all-school assembly this fall.