New police officers graduate

Posted:  Monday, December 23, 2013 - 10:00am

VASSALBORO — Maine's 50 newest police officers have graduated from the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro. The officers come from the municipal, county and state ranks and completed 18 weeks of study and training. Among the training topics were criminal and traffic law, domestic violence, sexual assault, firearms, first aid, crime scene processing and emergency vehicle operation.

The graduation speaker was Auburn Police Chief Phillip Crowell, who also serves as President of the Maine Chiefs of Police Association. Crowell told the new officers, "You now begin a life of service in a career unlike any other. You've answered a calling to adversity and purpose, to danger and honor."

The new officers are (alphabetical by department):

  • Katherine D. Avery, Joseph M. Correia, Nicholas J. Kyllonen, and Joseph T. Miville, Auburn Police
  • Benjamin M. Paradis, Bangor Police
  • Garrett G. Brosnan and William D. Brown IV, Brunswick Police
  • Eric D. Vanasse, Cape Elizabeth Police
  • Charles F. Theobald III, Clinton Police
  • Joseph S. Dyar, Cumberland County Sheriff's Office
  • Thomas B. Adams, Cumberland Police
  • Darren D. Jacques and Nathan G. Morse, Lewiston Police
  • Joshua F. Aylward, Mexico Police
  • Joshua E. Tilton, Old Town Police
  • Camron T. Barrieau, Orono Police
  • Jeremy C. Coron, Oxford Police
  • Nicholas R. Gilbert, Paris Police
  • Jakob R. Demchak, Ian L. Geib, Graham L. Hults, Jonathan J. Lackee, Christopher M. Maher, Adam M. Morin, Brian D. Truax, Portland Police
  • Kyle J. White, Presque Isle Police
  • Matthew D. Roberts, Saco Police
  • Austin W. Clark and Travis B. Hon, Scarborough Police
  • Dennis J. Remillard, Searsport Police
  • Mark A. McDonald, Topsham Police
  • Michael N. Raymond, a tuition student from Kennebunkport
  • William J. Jepson, Wells Police
  • Benjamin P. Hall and Douglas W. Maher, Westbrook Police
  • Andrew H. Hardy, Wilton Police
  • Jordan B. Floyd, York Police
  • James P. Mayotte from Boothbay Harbor, Maine Marine Patrol

In addition, there are twelve new State Police Trooper Recruits — Adam J. Bell from Hodgdon; James A. Bergdoll, Long Island, N.Y.; John S. Darcy, Topsham; Ethan S. Doody, Washburn; Taylor C. Dube, Glenburn; Sarah A. Ferland, Winterport; Nicholas M. Gleeson, Belfast; Randy K. Hall, Carthage; Brian A. Hink, Porter; James C. Moore, Gardiner; Andrew W. Peirson, Bel Air, Md.; and Shane M. Sullivan, Brunswick. The Trooper Recruits will now begin patrolling with a veteran Trooper and will attend another ten weeks of State Police training at the police academy, beginning in February.