Lovers and fools run afoul

Camden Shakespeare Festival presents a groovy ‘As You Like It’

Event has passed

    CAMDEN — Camden Shakespeare Festival gives Shakespeare’s comedy As You Like It, a “Summer of Love” makeover. It’s the 1960s, where anything goes, and the plucky Rosalind tries to win the man of her dreams in the most outlandish way possible.

    “Groovy songs are performed live in this crowd-pleasing favorite,” said the Festival, in a news release.

    Lovers and fools run afoul of the evil Duke Fredrick and they all retreat to the forest. Love requited, love unrequited and gender confusion all get sorted out as the lovers succumb to the charms of the natural world. This is the play which contains the famous speech “All the world’s a stage…”

    “And indeed, all the world IS a stage as the trees and foliage of the Camden Amphitheatre are transformed into the magical Forest of Arden,” said the Festival.

    As You Like It will be presented outdoors in the Camden Library Amphitheater on these dates: July 13, 14, 15, 19, 20, 21, 22, 26, 27, 28, 29 and August 3, 4, 5, 6 and 7. All performances begin at 6 p.m. The production is suitable for children. In the event of rain, the show will play indoors at St. Thomas’ Episcopal Church.  

    Tickets are available at OnTheStage.com, by calling 207-464-0008, or at the theatre and Camden Library one hour prior to each performance. 

     

    Event Date: 

    Wed, 07/13/2022 - 6:00pm
    Thu, 07/14/2022 - 6:00pm
    Fri, 07/15/2022 - 6:00pm
    Tue, 07/19/2022 - 6:00pm
    Wed, 07/20/2022 - 6:00pm
    Thu, 07/21/2022 - 6:00pm
    Fri, 07/22/2022 - 6:00pm
    Tue, 07/26/2022 - 6:00pm
    Wed, 07/27/2022 - 6:00pm
    Thu, 07/28/2022 - 6:00pm
    Fri, 07/29/2022 - 6:00pm
    Wed, 08/03/2022 - 6:00pm
    Thu, 08/04/2022 - 6:00pm
    Fri, 08/05/2022 - 6:00pm
    Sat, 08/06/2022 - 6:00pm
    Sun, 08/07/2022 - 6:00pm

    Event Location: 

    Camden Library Amphitheater

    Address: 

    Camden Amphitheater
    Camden, ME 04843
    United States