emerging musicians from Maine

Bay Chamber announces 2021 Young Stars of Maine prizewinners

Event has passed

ROCKPORT — On Sunday, June 6, at 4 p.m., Bay Chamber Concerts and Music School will hold the Young Stars of Maine Prizewinner concert at the Rockport Opera House. The Young Stars of Maine program highlights excellence and commitment in emerging musicians from Maine in eight different categories, representing a diverse array of focus and genre.

Esteemed judges Sarah Tuttle, Nicole Rabata, George Lopez, and Katherine Liccardo awarded seven $1000 prizes to soloists and one chamber music prize to a string quartet.

The concert, generously sponsored by The First National Bank and First National Wealth Management, is free and open to the public – mask wearing is respectfully requested.

Joint-winner of the Anna Bereziuk and Lindley Wood Ensemble Prize, violinist, Katherine O’Brien of Camden enjoys music in all aspects of her life. In her thirteen years of playing violin, Kat has been lucky enough to study with Josie Davis, Gilda Joffe, and Sarah Glenn at the Bay Chamber Music School, in Rockport. Under their tutelage, she has thoroughly developed a love for the community of musicians in the Midcoast and throughout Maine.

On stage, Kat has performed at the Kneisel Hall Chamber Program for Maine students, the DaPonte String Quartet Workshop, Bay Chamber’s Envision Summer Chamber Music Program, and is currently a violinist in the Young Stars of Maine prizewinning JAKS String Quartet, coached by Colin Wheatley. She has performed in masterclasses for world renowned violinists Midori and Geoff Nuttall, and as a first violinist in the All-State Orchestra. Music will continue to be an integral part of Kat’s future endeavors and she plans to attend Oberlin College and Conservatory to study environmental science and to play the violin. 

Other Young Stars of Maine prizewinners include winner of the Jean and Harvey Picker Senior Prize, Anne McKee, a violinist from Islesboro; Glenn Jenks Prize Future in Music prizewinner, Owen Kennedy, violin; A. H. Chatfield, Jr. Piano Prizewinner, Charlie Picone, pianist from Bangor; Eleanor Erdman and Diane Nixon Vocal Excellence Prizewinner, Emelia Bailey, soprano, from Gorham; Ezra Rachlin Prize for Excellence winner, Anya Atkinson, flautist from Gorham; Elsie Bixler Junior Prizewinner, Annabelle Brooks, pianist from Portland and the winners, the JAKS Quartet: Joshua Rosenthal (Damariscotta) and Katherine O’Brien (Camden), violins; Sophia Scheck (Waterville), viola; Anna Berkes (Winthrop), cello.

All are welcome to attend this free annual concert that celebrates the award winners as they embark on their musical futures.

For more information on Bay Chamber Concerts and Music school, please visit baychamber.org or call 207-236-2823.

Event Date: 

Sun, 06/06/2021 - 4:00pm

Event Location: 

Rockport Opera House


Rockport Opera House
Rockport  Maine
United States