Will Galloway presents two-day program on mediation and the process of conflict transformation at Hutchinson Center

Event has passed

Share: 

Belfast, Maine — A two-day professional development program, Mediation and the Process of Conflict Transformation, will be offered May  4–5 at the University of Maine Hutchinson Center.

The comprehensive program will benefit participants from a wide variety of fields, including law, educational administration, insurance, municipal government and social services. It will focus on the underlying premises, practices and policies of conflict transformation — an approach to changing the quality of human interaction adopted by the U.S. Postal Service, the largest civilian employer in the United States, as well as other government and NGOs in Canada, UK, Australia and Europe.

The program, from 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. each day, will include the book, “The Promise of Mediation” by Joseph Folger and Baruch Bush, a continental breakfast and catered lunch. The fee is $375 per person, with need-based scholarships available.

Mediation and the Process of Conflict Transformation can be counted toward the 40-hour basic mediation course requirement to join the Maine State Court Alternative Dispute Resolution Mediation roster.

Program presenter Will Galloway earned a Master of Arts in Teaching from Colgate University, an Honors Degree in British history from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland and a Bachelor of Arts in History from Bowdoin College. As an instructor in UMaine’s Peace and Reconciliation Studies Program, Galloway has taught mediation courses for over 14 years. Currently, Galloway is the head of school at the Watershed School in Camden, Maine.

Galloway’s work experience includes mediator and managing partner, Charbonneau and Galloway; educational consultant, Maine Department of Education; teaching fellow, Choices Program at Watson Institute for International Relations at Brown University; Waynflete School in Portland, Maine; Western Reserve Academy in Hudson, Ohio; U.S. Peace Corps in Thailand; and Citicorp Investment Bank in London.

For more information, to register, request an accommodation or scholarship application, contact Diana McSorley, 338.8093, diana.mcsorley@maine.edu

The Hutchinson Center, an outreach center of the University of Maine, is committed to offering high-quality professional development programs to the greater midcoast Maine community.

About the University of Maine:
The University of Maine, founded in Orono in 1865, is the state's land grant and sea grant university. As Maine's flagship public university, UMaine has a statewide mission of teaching, research and economic development, and community service. UMaine is among the most comprehensive higher education institutions in the Northeast and attracts students from Maine and 49 other states, and 67 countries. It currently enrolls 11,240 total undergraduate and graduate students who can directly participate in groundbreaking research working with world- class scholars. The University of Maine offers 35 doctoral programs and master's degrees in 85 fields; more than 90 undergraduate majors and academic programs; and one of the oldest and most prestigious honors programs in the U.S. The university promotes environmental stewardship, with substantial efforts campuswide aimed at conserving energy, recycling and adhering to green building standards in new construction. For more information about UMaine, visit
umaine.edu.

Event Dates: 
Thu, 03/15/2018 - 11:30am
Fri, 03/16/2018 - 11:30am
Mon, 03/19/2018 - 11:30am
Wed, 03/21/2018 - 11:30am
Fri, 03/23/2018 - 11:30am
Mon, 03/26/2018 - 11:30am
Wed, 03/28/2018 - 11:30am
Fri, 03/30/2018 - 11:30am
Mon, 04/02/2018 - 11:30am
Wed, 04/04/2018 - 11:30am
Fri, 04/06/2018 - 11:30am
Mon, 04/09/2018 - 11:30am
Wed, 04/11/2018 - 11:30am
Fri, 04/13/2018 - 11:30am
Mon, 04/16/2018 - 11:30am
Wed, 04/18/2018 - 11:30am
Fri, 04/20/2018 - 11:30am
Mon, 04/23/2018 - 11:30am
Wed, 04/25/2018 - 11:30am
Fri, 04/27/2018 - 11:30am
Mon, 04/30/2018 - 11:30am
Wed, 05/02/2018 - 11:30am
Fri, 05/04/2018 - 11:30am