Camden Philosophical Society,,,

Ethics discussion: MacIntyre's ‘After Virtue: A Study in Moral Theory’

Posted:  Wednesday, February 1, 2017 - 8:15am
Share: 

CAMDEN- The Camden Philosophical Society will meet on Tuesday, Feb. 7 — in line with its new practice of meeting on the first Tuesday of every month — to continue its discussion of contemporary ethics focused on British philosopher Alasdair MacIntyre's work, After Virtue: A Study in Moral Theory. The discussion will take place from 4 to 6 p.m. in the Picker Room of the Camden Public Library. All are welcome.

In this influential, widely read work, MacIntyre provides his perspective on a "crisis in moral philosophy" that he traces back to a failure of the philosophers of the European enlightenment to come up with a universally accepted "status, authority and justification" for a new moral system to replace the religiously rooted one of the Middle Ages. This left only competing claims about how people should arrive at moral judgments, claims that were "essentially contestable" but nonetheless expressed as if they reflected an impersonal standard applicable to everyone.

In Macintyre's discussion, a number of themes appear that build on earlier Philosophical Society discussions, such as issues in language, the way he sees philosophical discourse as culturally and historically stipulated, and the problems with advancement of knowledge in science. The portions of MacIntyre's work the group will be considering Feb. 7 also lay out the thinking of a number of other philosophers on these issues. The discussion will be led by Dr. Roberto Struba.

The readings for the February meeting are Chapters 1, 2 and 3 of After Virtue.

Event Dates: 
Tue, 02/07/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 03/07/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 04/04/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 05/02/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 06/06/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 07/04/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 08/01/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 09/05/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 10/03/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Tue, 11/07/2017 - 4:00pm to 6:00pm
Event Location: 
Camden Public Library
Address: 
55 Main Street
Camden  Maine  04843