Grant Writing Certificate Program at UMaine Hutchinson Center

Posted:  Thursday, March 29, 2018 - 4:00pm
Share: 

Belfast, Maine — A Grant Writing Certificate Program will be offered May 14–18 at the University of Maine Hutchinson Center. Nonprofit leaders, executive directors, municipal officials, board members and others interested in creating high-quality grant proposals for their organizations are invited to register. The program runs Mon. – Fri. with breakfast, refreshments and lunch provided each day.

Course instructor Jack Smith, M.P.A., has a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Maine and over 25 years of experience in the nonprofit and public sector. He has taught over 1,500 grant writing programs in his career, and currently teaches grant writing certificate programs at the Hutchinson Center, University of Southern Maine, Emory University, University of Georgia and Austin Center for Nonprofit Studies. Patricia Libby, Director of Maine Hutchinson Center, stated, “Jack is an expert teacher and trainer in this industry and participants will find that his curriculum is very actionable.”

The Grant Writing Program provides an intensive opportunity to acquire the knowledge and practice the skills necessary to succeed in today’s competitive grant writing environment. Participants will proceed step-by-step through the development of a proposal, identifying and evaluating the most appropriate funding sources, researching a problem, and supplying the documentation and statistics necessary for supporting a successful grant proposal.

Participants will earn a University of Maine Certificate in Grant Writing; 3.0 CEUs/30 contact hours are also available.  Program cost is $750 with need-based scholarships are available. For more information or to register, visit hutchinsoncenter.umaine.edu.

The Hutchinson Center, an outreach center of the University of Maine, is committed to offering high-quality professional development programs to the greater midcoast Maine community.

For more information or to request an accommodation contact Diana McSorley, 207.338.8093, diana.mcsorley@maine.edu.

About the University of Maine:
The University of Maine, founded in Orono in 1865, is the state's land grant and sea grant university. As Maine's flagship public university, UMaine has a statewide mission of teaching, research and economic development, and community service. UMaine is among the most comprehensive higher education

institutions in the Northeast and attracts students from Maine and 49 other states, and 67 countries. It currently enrolls 11,240 total undergraduate and graduate students who can directly participate in groundbreaking research working with world-class scholars. The University of Maine offers 35 doctoral programs and master's degrees in 85 fields; more than 90 undergraduate majors and academic programs; and one of the oldest and most prestigious honors programs in the U.S. The university promotes environmental stewardship, with substantial efforts campuswide aimed at conserving energy, recycling and adhering to green building standards in new construction. For more information about UMaine, visit umaine.edu.

Event Dates: 
Thu, 03/29/2018 - 4:00pm
Sat, 03/31/2018 - 4:00pm
Mon, 04/02/2018 - 4:00pm
Wed, 04/04/2018 - 4:00pm
Fri, 04/06/2018 - 4:00pm
Sun, 04/08/2018 - 4:00pm
Tue, 04/10/2018 - 4:00pm
Thu, 04/12/2018 - 4:00pm
Sat, 04/14/2018 - 4:00pm
Mon, 04/16/2018 - 4:00pm
Wed, 04/18/2018 - 4:00pm
Fri, 04/20/2018 - 4:00pm
Sun, 04/22/2018 - 4:00pm
Tue, 04/24/2018 - 4:00pm
Thu, 04/26/2018 - 4:00pm
Sat, 04/28/2018 - 4:00pm
Mon, 04/30/2018 - 4:00pm
Wed, 05/02/2018 - 4:00pm
Fri, 05/04/2018 - 4:00pm
Sun, 05/06/2018 - 4:00pm
Tue, 05/08/2018 - 4:00pm
Thu, 05/10/2018 - 4:00pm
Sat, 05/12/2018 - 4:00pm