A Century of French Cinema

Posted:  
Monday, January 9, 2017 - 2:15pm
Share: 
French Cinema
French Cinema for the Advanced Student of French

Join us for A Century of French Cinema (1898-1998) with Nadia Margolis, retired professor from Mount Holyoke.  This course provides students an opportunity to view and discuss in French some classic French films, beginning with those directed by the Lumière brothers, Georges Méliès and Abel Gance to such later masters as Jean Renoir, René Clair, H-G Clouzot, François Truffaut, Louis Malle, Éric Rohmer, Robert Bresson, and Bertrand Tavernier in relation to their historical and artistic contexts. Though an incomplete selection at best, it attempts to provide a useful introduction to inspire further study of this “seventh art,” in which France still reigns as a major influence. 

Offered Wednesdays, 6-8 p.m. for 14 weeks starting January 25th.  $435/person.

Event Dates: 
Wed, 01/25/2017 - 6:00pm
Thu, 01/26/2017 - 6:00pm
Fri, 01/27/2017 - 6:00pm
Sat, 01/28/2017 - 6:00pm
Sun, 01/29/2017 - 6:00pm
Mon, 01/30/2017 - 6:00pm
Tue, 01/31/2017 - 6:00pm
Wed, 02/01/2017 - 6:00pm
Thu, 02/02/2017 - 6:00pm
Fri, 02/03/2017 - 6:00pm
Sat, 02/04/2017 - 6:00pm
Sun, 02/05/2017 - 6:00pm
Mon, 02/06/2017 - 6:00pm
Tue, 02/07/2017 - 6:00pm
Wed, 02/08/2017 - 6:00pm
Event Location: 
Penobscot Language School
Contact Name: 
Joan LeMole, Executive Director
Contact Phone: 
(207) 594-1084
Contact Email: